动机

随着 JavaScript 单页应用开发日趋复杂,JavaScript 需要管理比任何时候都要多的 state (状态)。 这些 state 可能包括服务器响应、缓存数据、本地生成尚未持久化到服务器的数据,也包括 UI 状态,如激活的路由,被选中的标签,是否显示加载动效或者分页器等等。

管理不断变化的 state 非常困难。如果一个 model 的变化会引起另一个 model 变化,那么当 view 变化时,就可能引起对应 model 以及另一个 model 的变化,依次地,可能会引起另一个 view 的变化。直至你搞不清楚到底发生了什么。state 在什么时候,由于什么原因,如何变化已然不受控制。 当系统变得错综复杂的时候,想重现问题或者添加新功能就会变得举步维艰。

如果这还不够糟糕,考虑一些来自前端开发领域的新需求,如更新调优、服务端渲染、路由跳转前请求数据等等。前端开发者正在经受前所未有的复杂性,难道就这么放弃了吗?当然不是。

这里的复杂性很大程度上来自于:我们总是将两个难以理清的概念混淆在一起:变化和异步。 我称它们为曼妥思和可乐。如果把二者分开,能做的很好,但混到一起,就变得一团糟。一些库如 React 试图在视图层禁止异步和直接操作 DOM 来解决这个问题。美中不足的是,React 依旧把处理 state 中数据的问题留给了你。Redux 就是为了帮你解决这个问题。

跟随 FluxCQRSEvent Sourcing 的脚步,通过限制更新发生的时间和方式,Redux 试图让 state 的变化变得可预测。这些限制条件反映在 Redux 的三大原则中。

results matching ""

    No results matching ""

Motivation

As the requirements for JavaScript single-page applications have become increasingly complicated, our code must manage more state than ever before. This state can include server responses and cached data, as well as locally created data that has not yet been persisted to the server. UI state is also increasing in complexity, as we need to manage the active route, the selected tab, whether to show a spinner or not, should pagination controls be displayed, and so on.

Managing this ever-changing state is hard. If a model can update another model, then a view can update a model, which updates another model, and this, in turn, might cause another view to update. At some point, you no longer understand what happens in your app as you have lost control over the when, why, and how of its state. When a system is opaque and non-deterministic, it's hard to reproduce bugs or add new features.

As if this wasn't bad enough, consider the new requirements becoming common in front-end product development. As developers, we are expected to handle optimistic updates, server-side rendering, fetching data before performing route transitions, and so on. We find ourselves trying to manage a complexity that we have never had to deal with before, and we inevitably ask the question: is it time to give up? The answer is no.

This complexity is difficult to handle as we're mixing two concepts that are very hard for the human mind to reason about: mutation and asynchronicity. I call them Mentos and Coke. Both can be great in separation, but together they create a mess. Libraries like React attempt to solve this problem in the view layer by removing both asynchrony and direct DOM manipulation. However, managing the state of your data is left up to you. This is where Redux enters.

Following in the steps of Flux, CQRS, and Event Sourcing, Redux attempts to make state mutations predictable by imposing certain restrictions on how and when updates can happen. These restrictions are reflected in the three principles of Redux.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""